How to Prepare for Your Meeting with Lawyers
If you live on and have been hurt in an accident, you best choice for representation are Lawyers, who live and work in the community, and are able to provide you with personalized attention and care throughout the entire litigation process.
Here are some things to prepare and bring to the first meeting with your Lawyers:
1. If you were injured in a car accident, the most important thing to bring is the police report, usually prepared at the scene of the occurrence by a police officer who responds to the scene. These reports are normally ready in 48 hours following the accident, and can be picked up at the police precinct. The report will include vital information for your case, such as name and address of the negligent driver, his insurance information, whether he received any citations or tickets at the scene, description of how the accident took place, diagrams showing direction of movement of cars prior to the collision, and points of impact. Your lawyer will be able to decipher the codes on the report and advise you if it’s favorable to your case, or if it needs to be amended.
2. Witness information is another piece of evidence your attorney needs to have to properly represent you. Sometimes a person witnesses the occurrence, but is unable to remain at the scene of the accident to wait for the police to arrive. In that case, the witness often gives his contact information to the victim and the attorney of the injured party can then get in touch with the witness and get his statement on how the accident took place.
3. Ambulance, hospital and medical records can often make or break the case, and without good records, showing serious injuries, a person may not have a viable case. New York has toughened its rules on who can sue for injuries sustained in car accidents, and your lawyers will pour over the records to see if you have passed the threshold for the injuries required under the new rules.
4. Letters from employer, indicating how long you were unable to work, and whether you received any lost wages as the result, are always a must. Insurance Law of the State of New York now requires that an injured person be unable to perform his normal activities for at least 90 out of 180 days, following the occurrence. Therefore, keep not only the employment records, but records of you not being able to go to the gym, play sports and other vital physical activities.
5. Forms from an insurance company often have time limits during which they must be filled out and mailed back to the adjuster. For example, no-fault applications must be filled out within 30 days of the accident, in order for you to receive your lost wages, as well as get medical, hospital and diagnostic bills paid. lawyers and their staff will assist you in filling out the necessary forms, and make sure they are all submitted to the insurance company before all deadlines.
Frank Torres - About Author:
Personal injury lawyer : At Duffy & Duffy we understand brain injury and the medical mistakes that can cause it. You can receive financial compensation for life-long expenses for your child. And, the Duffy & Duffy brain damaged baby lawyer, is well qualified to help you to get it. 516.394.4200. For more information please visit http://www.duffyduffylaw.com/
Published by Cumurciuc Andrea on January 6th 2012 | Law
Published by Carolmoore on March 6th 2012 | Law
Published by Carolmoore on March 13th 2012 | Law
Published by Kelvin Florence on February 10th 2012 | Law
Published by Ellicsemmy on June 20th 2012 | Law
Published by Suji Katie on February 1st 2012 | Law
Published by Pawantechmagnate on May 1st 2012 | Law
Published by Abhay on June 22nd 2012 | Law
Published by Kaci Kacia on February 6th 2012 | Law
Published by Nichel Johnson on June 20th 2012 | Law